Pendulum – Mark Lanegan

The Voice has made some incredible solo records. This one is my favourite. A church tinged mournful country ballad. Slight in length but potent in mood.

I’ve seen Mark front manic grunge legend’s Screaming Trees, I’ve seen him do his bit among the circus of a tour with Queens Of The Stone Age and I’ve pawed over The Gutter Twins super group he formed with Greg Dulli, The Soulsavers, the Isobel Campbell collaborations. Hell, he’s the Grunge generations Johnny Cash. But when it comes to his solo work, this little ditty is the one for me.

“Swing pendulum swing low I got no time to call my own, Oh Lord don’t you bother me, I’m as tired as a man can be”

 

Leave a Reply

