the thrill is gone – b.b. king

Sometimes, not as often as people think, but sometimes, the most obvious song from the biggest names really is just the best there is.

Now I’m not claiming to have an encyclopaedic knowledge of the entire back catalogue of an bluesman who has recorded over 40 albums. But I know my fair share of B. B King records. His Live At San Quentin album is a bit of a favourite and stuff like Tickle Britches, Guess Who, Payin’ The Cost To Be The Boss and The Letter was all part of my musical upbringing.

He was a legend I got to see live only once (in the late 90’s in a venue that was way too small for the name over the door). He was also one of the acts my Mother In Law and I bonded over when she was sussing me out to see if I was worthy of her daughter (and she had exquisite judgement let me say).

You see some songs are so epic. So towering in stature and arse quakingly fantastic that you can’t deny their brilliance. The Thrill Is Gone is right up there. Up there with Bohemian Rhapsody, Stairway To Heaven, A Change Is Gonna Come and My Baby Just Cares For Me. It’s one of those forever records. Perfect in every way.

So I’m going to steer you towards the Live at The Albert Hall version instead. Because it’s got Mick Fucking Hucknall on it and it still doesn’t suck.

Leave a Reply

