Blank Generation – Richard Hell & the Voidoids

A stuttering intro. An uneven voice. A messy melody and the whole thing feels like it’s trying to catch up with itself. It stops, stumbles and restarts at regular intervals.

And yet, Richard Hell has something rather vital to say as the guitars chop around him.

‘I was saying let me out of here before I was even born, it’s such a gamble when you get a face’ or ‘get a fix’ I can’t tell. I could google it. I could listen closer. I just don’t want to. I like the squidy offness about it.

The whole thing is a bit pissed up. It’s not found its sea legs quite yet and it saunters from upright to listing in a really alluring way.

There’s a blankety blank moment two thirds of the way through where after the established refrain of ‘I belong to the Blank Generation’ you get an off time ‘I belong to THE…’ and there’s a stop. A blank in the song.

In my head it goes straight to the gameshow format. In the song. It skips half a second and rolls back into the wonky tune. I’ll take it, each time.

Leave a Reply

