Profoundo Rosso – Goblin

Creeeeeeepy Craaaaaawly, Creeepy Craaawly, Creepy Crawly, Creepycrawlycreepycrawlycreepycrawly!

Man I love Goblin’s soundtrack to the original Suspiria movie. I’m not throwing any shade on the remake from 2018. Nor am I dissing the Thom Yorke curated, composed album that came with Luca Guadagnio’s vision in 2018. I thought it was all a noble endeavour. If only other modern remakes were done with such care, invention and passion.

However, as one of those vinyl record types there is something so very peak ‘Turntablist’ about Goblin and their organ led 70’s European horror rock. As much as I love the work they did for Dario Argento on what is no doubt his masterpiece. There’s an even better earlier record by them for him to revel in.

If you’re even a causal horror film fan or cineaste of any kind you cannot unsee the influence Goblin had on mainstream movies when you hear the glory of Profoundo Rosso (loosey goosey translation, Too Much Blood) parping and grooving it’s way through that most macro of title sequences. John Carpenter drank deeply from this well. Clearly. His instruments may have been a little more ’70’s American electronics store’ available but the influence is unavoidable.

Sure, Mike Oldfield, Vangelis, Clint Mansell and several others probably deserve a place in SFTD’s ‘I like records and I like horror movies’ over lap in this Venn diagram of un-abandoned juvenile obsessions. In fact as I write this I had to search each name to be sure I’d never posted anything by any of them before. How I never put anything from Requiem For A Dream on here boggles the mind.

In my defence I have posted Ennio Morricone, Tangerine Dream, Manfred Hubler and many other soundtrack composers before… And gore splattering yet, I can’t close up and turn out the lights without spreading the heady delights of Goblin all over your faces.

Dig that groove, smell that era out loud as those groovy Goblins (AKA Back To The Goblin, The Goblin Keys, New Goblin, Dario Argento & The Goblins and Orange Goblin*) theatre school their way through a goths dream of how things were in the before time.

File this alongside The Wicker Man, Vampyros Lesbos and Neal Hefti in your Camp Groovy Ghouls section of your record collection.

Dig the Deep Red
Legendary low budget single shot title sequence for Profoundo Rosso

*The only lie in the whole sentence

8 thoughts on “Profoundo Rosso – Goblin

  1. The original Suspiria is in my top 10 scariest movies of all time, and I have no doubt that soundtrack enhanced the horror of it. Listening to the 2nd video it sounds kind of cheesy and dated but set it to a movie and it keeps things ramping up and rolling along. I’m also a fan of old horror movies. Do you the old Hammer films?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. ‘Camp Groovy Ghouls’ is not a section I currently have, but I’m willing to consider it. Tangerine Dream’s ‘Firestarter’ and ‘Near Dark’ are in, of course, as is the rather good Thom Yorke you mentioned. ‘Suspiria’ is the only Goblin I have on vinyl, though I do have a really interesting CD comp. Oh, and the ‘Wicker Man’ ost; that’s a beauty.
    Gee, that is almost at ‘section’ level already.
    Just don’t check the dvd shelves; there are no horror films to be found.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment