Pumpin’ For Jill – Iggy Pop

Finish how we started shall we?

It’s been a long time since I posted an Iggy Pop song and I find my December flurry of words has finally run its course. I started writing this blog again when 2023 was presenting me with so much great new music I couldnt’ keep it to myself. Then other stuff crept in. Kinks Week, ‘What If The Beatles Were Punk Girls?’ Week, Space Week, SHARK week. I never considered SFTD truly back… But then I posted well over a hundred songs in a sixty day period and It was… More than a Christmas visit.

Somehow I got locked in misery tourism and all those sad songs for a bit and had to counter balance with a week of joy, Belle & Sebastian, Prince and Nilsson to the rescue. It all got a bit out of hand to be honest.

Anyway. I’ve kinda run out of road. SFTD will be going dark again for a bit. I’ve had too many reanimations to say we’re done done. But we can’t finish on something as slight as Jamie -T, Beastie Boys and Alabama 3.

So what do you say we finish January on a couple of classics from the SteveForTheDeaf Record collection? Come February I’ll be away. But for now!!!!

From 1981’s Party album Pumpin’ For Jill is one of my most played songs of all time.

Iggy spins you a yarn about intimacy and sacrifice over a cool Ivan Kral guitar line that burbles and picks its way hypnotically into the back of your mind. There’s a new wave kooky effect on the guitar solo and some Lou Reed indebted lalala backing vocals over the almost Heroes aping final minute. But mostly it’s Iggy Pop being chilled and stylish after New Values and Soldier. Party completed his trilogy of albums on Arista Records. After this almost AOR period came Zombie Birdhouse and Pop redefining his weird for the 80’s to fully get going.

The intended hit off the same album was Bang Bang! (I got mine) but for me Pumpin’ For Jill is a high watermark Pop rock moment.

At the very start I posted lots of Iggy, R.E.M. 90’s Indie and old Hair Metal. Because that is who I am on the inside.

13 thoughts on “Pumpin’ For Jill – Iggy Pop

  1. This song (together with “Bang Bang”) played on college radio in 1981 were my point of entry to Iggy Pop. As such I have nothing but time for the commerciality of his last Arista album. Believe it or not, “New Values” still doesn’t reside in my Record Cell from that initial solo burst!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment